John G. Raffoul, DPA, FACHE

President​, Adventist Health White Memorial


John Raffoul is the president of Adventist Health White Memorial, a medical center serving the communities in and near downtown Los Angeles for more than 100 years. White Memorial is comprised of a 353- bed teaching hospital, medical offices, and clinics that provide a full range of inpatient, outpatient, emergency, and diagnostic services. It is part of Adventist Health, a faith-based, nonprofit integrated health system.

John began his career at White Memorial in 1984 as an accountant, working his way up through leadership positions to assume the role of president in 2015.

Under John’s leadership, White Memorial has been able to achieve exceptional levels of performance, clinical quality, patient experience, associate and physician engagement, and operations — earning multiple distinguished awards and accolades. Some of which include Healthgrades’ 100 Best Hospitals Award and Leapfrog Grade-A. In 2018, White Memorial was the only hospital in California to receive the highest Gold-level CAPE Eureka Award for outstanding commitment to sustainable performance excellence through innovation, continuous improvement, and visionary leadership. In 2019, White Memorial was the recipient of the highest presidential honor for performance excellence, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award.

John holds a doctorate in public administration from University of La Verne, a master's degree in finance from California State University, San Bernardino, and a bachelor’s degree in accounting from Loma Linda University. Since 2003, John has been a professor of accounting and finance at the University of Southern California, Graduate School of Policy Planning and Development. He is a Fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives and serves on the boards of directors for the Hospital Association of Southern California, Private Essential Access Community Hospitals, the Malcolm Baldridge Foundation, L.A. Care Health Plan, and the University of La Verne board of trustees.