Back to articles

20th Annual Golf Classic Raises Funds for Project HOPE


Sonora Regional Medical Center’s 20th Annual Golf Classic was a big success thanks to the contributions of sponsors, donors, players and volunteers. This year’s event was held on Wednesday, June 8, 2016 at Pine Mountain Lake Golf Club in Groveland. Seventy sponsors and 133 players helped raise more than $59,000 to support Project HOPE, a twice-a-week, free health clinic at the Crossroads Shopping Center and InterFaith.

The day couldn’t have been better: lovely weather, a fun course, fabulous views, and great food and service provided by the Pine Mountain Lake Country Club staff.

The winning golfers were:

1st Place Low Gross – Justin Page, James Alit, Kyle Tomer and Nanette Warzee

1st Place Low Net – Tim Scott, Rob Edwards, Jay Esty and Jerry Nielson

2nd Place Low Net – Blake Ollar, David Sahl, Doug Johnson and Mike Keckler

3rd Place Low Net – Rick Dodge, Stacey Dodge, Ron Rodriguez and Jodie Rodriguez

Most Honest – Dana Von Allmen, Manny Palma, Austin Van Wormer and Juan Maya

Closest to the Pins:

# 3 – Larry England (6’ 7”)

# 7 – Ron Leedy (6’ 11”)

#14 – Rob Alford (4’ 6”)

#17 – Todd Wasslin (10’ 2”)

Longest Drive:

Women – Nancy Freedman

Men – Billy Kiriluk

Longest Putt: Marjorie Rich (45’ 4”)

Putting Contest: Philip Alfrey

Closest-to-Mr. Bones Contest: Barry Annis (13’1”)

Helicopter Ball Drop: Contest H. Randolph Holder and Julie von Savoye

Hit-the-Circle: Rob Alford, Jay Esty, Jodie Rodriguez and Marilyn Scott

The Medical Center would like to thank Helicopter Ball Drop Sponsor Black Oak Casino Resort; Tournament Sponsors Comcast Business and Sonora Hills Community; Corporate Sponsors Adventist Health, Affiliates in Imaging, CEP, Clarke Broadcasting Corp., Oak Valley Community Bank and Sierra Cardiology Medical Associates; Contest Sponsor Sonora Ford; Major Sponsors Blue Mountain Minerals, California Gold Development Corp., CGL, Grant Mercantile Agency, Johnson Controls, Inc., MACT Health Board and Medical Solutions. Special thanks to Hole-in-One Sponsor Sonora Ford, who offered a 2016 Ford Mustang GT as the hole-in-one prize (unfortunately, no winner this year!).

The Golf Classic Committee was chaired by Tuolumne County Sheriff Jim Mele and was joined by committee members Kathren Alexander, Allen Craig, Katie Dunn, Larry Jobe, Elizabeth Jones, Lisa Melville, Mark Luster, Aaron Moss, Tom Nischwitz, Shirley Sarno, Mark Steichen and Gail Witzlsteiner.