Back to articles

GAMC Receives Silver-Level Beacon Award

Awards & Recognition

Glendale, CA – The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), located in Aliso Viejo, California, recently awarded a silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence to the Intensive Care Unit (ICU), Surgical Intensive Care Unit (SICU) and Coronary Intensive Care Unit (CICU) at Glendale Adventist Medical Center (GAMC).

The Beacon Award for Excellence—a significant milestone on the path to exceptional patient care and healthy work environments—recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with AACN’s Six Healthy Work Environment Standards. Units that achieve this three-year, three-level award with a gold, silver or bronze designation meet national criteria consistent with Magnet Recognition, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award.

“The success of this achievement lies in our clinical team at GAMC. Through the collaboration of our physicians, nurses and our entire health care team, we successfully and proudly achieved this designation,” said Punnoose Varghese, RN, MS, CCRN-K, director of critical care services. 

AACN President Karen McQuillan, RN, MS, CNS-BC, CCRN, CNRN, FAAN, applauds the commitment of the caregivers in the ICU, SICU and CICU at GAMC for working together to meet and exceed the high standards set forth by the Beacon Award for Excellence. These dedicated health care professionals join other members of the exceptional community of nurses who set the standard for optimal patient care.

“The Beacon Award for Excellence recognizes caregivers in stellar units whose consistent and systematic approach to evidence-based care optimizes patient outcomes. Units that receive this national recognition serve as role models to others on their journey to excellent patient and family care,” she explains. 

The silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence signifies continuous learning and effective systems to achieve optimal patient care. The units earned their award by meeting the following evidence-based Beacon Award for Excellence criteria:

  • Leadership Structures and Systems 
  • Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement
  • Effective Communication, Knowledge Management, Learning and Development
  • Evidence-Based Practice and Processes
  • Outcome Measurement

To learn more about the AACN, visit