Back to articles

Highest award in health care philanthropy goes to Mary Anne Chern of White Memorial Medical Center Charitable Foundation

Awards & Recognition

WASHINGTON, D.C. (Sept. 18, 2015) – Mary Anne Chern, FAHP, ACFRE, president of the White Memorial Medical Center Charitable Foundation, is this year’s recipient of the prestigious Harold J. (Si) Seymour Award of the Association for Healthcare Philanthropy (AHP). The award recognizes excellence in advancing charitable support for health care institutions in the United States and Canada.

White Memorial Medical Center, a part of Adventist Health, is a nonprofit teaching hospital based in the Boyle Heights neighborhood of East Los Angeles. For the past 18 years, Ms. Chern has been president of the medical center’s charitable foundation.

She will receive the award on Oct. 2, 2015, at the AHP Annual International Conference in Orlando, Fla.

“Mary Anne Chern is a truly dedicated and outstanding health care development professional,” says Steven Churchill, MNA, president and CEO of AHP. “Her colleagues throughout North America admire and appreciate her skills, leadership and willingness to share her expertise. A mentor to many and a friend to all, Mary Anne is a proven professional and an impassioned, amazing ambassador for AHP.”

With more than 30 years of experience as a hospital fund development professional, she is one of only four individuals in the U.S. who are both a fellow of the Association for Healthcare Philanthropy (FAHP) and also hold advanced certification as a fundraising executive (ACFRE) from the Association of Fundraising Professionals. 

“Mary Anne Chern is an exemplary leader who has served effectively as a respected change agent within our association. The trajectory AHP enjoys today has been influenced by her many talents,” says David Flood, chair of the AHP Board of Directors and vice president/chief development officer of Intermountain Healthcare in Salt Lake City, Utah. “Beyond this, Mary Anne is a wonderful person who continues to serve as a role model to many in our profession—including me.”

Ms. Chern is a past board chair of AHP and has served the association in numerous volunteer capacities. She also has served on the national board of the Association of Fundraising Professionals and its Greater Los Angeles chapter, as well as the boards of CFRE International, which credentials fundraising professionals; the Milton Murray Foundation for Philanthropy, which develops the expertise of nonprofit leaders; and the Southern California Association for Healthcare Development (SCAHD). 

A frequent speaker on charitable giving and author of a book and numerous articles on fundraising, she won the AHP Journal Award in 2009 for her article on “Hispanic Fundraising: Myths and Realities.” Ms. Chern also has received lifetime achievement awards from both SCAHD and the Philanthropic Service for Institutions.

AHP’s Harold J. (Si) Seymour Award honors the memory of a trailblazer in the world of philanthropy. Seymour’s career spanned a half-century of fundraising on behalf of many worthy causes, from the National War Fund during World War II and Harvard University, to youth groups, educational institutions, health organizations and numerous community service projects. His seminal book, Designs for Fundraising, published in 1966 is regarded as a bible of philanthropic fundraising to this day.

The Association for Healthcare Philanthropy, the leading authority on health philanthropy, is a professional organization that represents development professionals at more than 2,000 nonprofit hospitals, medical centers, health systems and related facilities throughout North America and abroad.