Back to articles

Golf Tournament Raises $60,000 for Project HOPE


June 13, 2014 (Sonora, CA)  -  Sonora Regional Medical Center’s 18th Annual Golf Classic was a big success thanks to the contributions of sponsors, donors, players and volunteers. This year’s event was held on Wednesday, June 11, 2014 at Saddle Creek Resort in Copperopolis. Seventy-five sponsors and 124 players helped raise $60,000 to support Project HOPE, a twice-a-week, free health clinic at the Crossroads Shopping Center and InterFaith in Sonora. The day couldn’t have been better: a fun course, great networking, a variety of wildlife and wonderful food and service provided by the Saddle Creek Resort staff. 

The winning golfers were:

1st Place Low Gross – Rob Stevenson, Dave Wimberly, Jordan Archelleta, Scott Wenborn

1st Place Low Net – DelRay Olberg, John Shatswell, Roy Gregory, Tom Cosentino

2nd Place Low Net – Ron Patel, Aaron Moss, Matt Maddox, Terry Mehl

3rd Place Low Net – Marilyn Scott, Susan Dwyer, Frank Jablonski, Bob Jablonski

Closest to the Pins:      
#4 – Ron Rodriguez (9’2”)
#7 – Roy Gregory (8’) 
#11 – Guy Martin (3’6”)

#14 – Ron Figley (4’1”)   

Longest Drive #8:        
Men – Jordan Archeletta
Women – Jennifer Hadenfeldt

Accuracy Drive #16:    
Gerard Ardron, MD

Putting Contest:           
Gerard Ardron, MD

Longest Putt:               
Vaughn Shaw (52’1”)

The $1,000 winner of the Helicopter Ball Drop Contest was Bob Wright of Sonora. 

The Medical Center would like to thank Helicopter Ball Drop Sponsor Black Oak Casino Resort; Tournament Sponsor Sonora Hills; Corporate Sponsors Adventist Health, Affiliates in Imaging, Clarke Broadcasting Corp., Comcast Business, Oak Valley Community Bank and Sierra Cardiology Medical Associates; Major Sponsors Blue Mountain Minerals, DelRay Olberg Construction, Delta Blood Bank, Elekta, Golden State Cellular, Grant Mercantile Agency, M.A.C.T. Health Board, Njirich & Sons, Save Mart Supermarkets, Sierra Emergency Medical Group, Sonora Ford and Sound Physicians. 

The Golf Classic Committee was chaired by Tuolumne County Sheriff Jim Mele and was joined by committee members Kathren Alexander, Katie Dunn, Larry Jobe, Elizabeth Jones, Bob Laukat, Lisa Melville, Chuck Milazzo, Tom Nischwitz, Shirley Sarno, Joe Silva and Mark Steichen.