Back to articles

Michael Melvin RN Receives Exceptional Nurse Award


The Fall 2010 DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses was awarded on November 19 to Michael Melvin, RN, a night shift nurse supervisor at Tillamook County General Hospital.

Nominations from hospital co-workers included these comments about the exceptional nursing care provided by Michael: Someone that everyone looks up to; always asking if help is needed; anticipates all possible scenarios; not only a team player but also a team leader; compassionate; a mentor for others; trustworthy; patient advocate; working with him is a pleasure.

Other hospital nursing staff nominated for this DAISY award include: Megan Davis, Laurie Sass, Michelle Germond, Jane Kruh, Gretchen Brill, Bambi Poblador, Tami Begin, Vicky Meadows, Rose DeBlock, and Erica Hill.

Michael, who grew up in Garibaldi, had originally planned to be a teacher but found he enjoyed the healing touch of direct patient care. He has used that healing touch as a registered nurse (RN) to care for many patients over the past 33 years, mostly in critical care settings. Michael and his wife, Pam, felt they were coming home to Tillamook when in 2006 they moved here and Michael began working in the hospital’s Emergency Department.

“It’s a pleasure to honor exceptional nurses like Michael Melvin,” stated Donna Bechthold, vice president for patient care. “This community can be proud of the skillful care that each one of our compassionate nursing staff gives to each one of their patients.”

The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses was established by the DAISY Foundation in memory of J. Patrick Barnes who died at age 33 with an autoimmune disease. The Barnes Family, awestruck by the clinical skills, caring and compassion of the nurses who cared for Patrick, created an award program to express appreciation to nurses nationwide. This award is now presented twice yearly to a Tillamook Hospital nurse nominated by co-workers for extraordinary patient care. To date, more than 4,500 nurses from 450 hospitals have received this award.